Lessons I Learned as a Child

The Story of the Purse

When I was in grade school, I would always go with my mother to the market, to the church and practically wherever she went.

mom-863050_1280One time when we were out to buy groceries, we passed by a bazaar and there I saw the most beautiful and feminine purse. It caught my eye and at that very moment I asked my mom to buy it for me. My mom didn’t buy it for me because she said it’s too small yet too expensive, and that I didn’t need it anyway.

All I could do was pout because my mother would get mad if I insisted. Then she told me that if I really wanted it so badly, I should save money to buy it.

So everyday, I would save the daily allowance I received from my mother for that purse. I would always check the store if they still had it and every time I saw it I would ask how much it was. I went there a couple of times that the owner almost never answered me because she knew I would never buy it anyway.

Until the day came that I ended up with the right amount. I went to the store and buy it! I couldn’t believe my eyes as the owner wrapped that little purse for me! I was so happy, I went home smiling.

The next day, I unwrapped the purse I bought, studied it carefully and went to look for some coins to try it out. I rummaged for my bag but I couldn’t even find a single coin.

So basically, I was left with an empty purse – not to mention that I couldn’t bring it to school because it was too small. The string was also too slim to carry all the weight of the coins (I didn’t have notes!).

After a few days of using it, I lost interest in it that I hid it in my closet.

Maybe children can sometimes easily lose their interest in their toys, or food or clothes. In retrospect, maybe I was just being a child back then.

Funny thing is, even until now I can still remember how that little purse looked like.

After several years, I guess I’m still that little child. I still end up wanting things I think I need or want. Once I got them, I lost interest in them so easily that it made me ask myself in several circumstances, “why did I even buy this?”

The Lessons

I can say that some of the lessons I learned from this as a kid is:
1. First, that if I want something, then I should get it myself and not to rely on anyone to get it for me.
2. I learned how to focus on my goal. When you learn to focus only on your goal, you’ll end up getting it.
3. A mother knows best. Learn to listen.
My mother was right after all. At that time, she knew that I didn’t need it but I could not see the reason behind it yet. She had a full-scale vision of things whereas mine was limited.

Most importantly, I learned that not everything I want can keep me happy. More often than not, fleeting wants masked as needs are just that – fleeting and hence short-lived.

Sometimes, we chase for things we think we need, only to realize later on that it was not what we really needed. We go for things that we want, only to overlook the fact that like my purse, the coins are far more important than the purse itself. What do I do with the purse if all my money is gone?

We must learn to seek and value more important things – those that we really need.

“But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.”

Matthew 6:33

 

What about you? Have you been wanting something lately?

Leave a Reply

